Welcome to my disc golf blog! I don’t know anyone who would ever read this blog that doesn’t know this, but, I called it Rick O’Shay because one time playing at the Bryant Lake course in E.P., someone’s disc ricocheted of a tree. In response, I believe I said, “Wow, that thing really ricocheted,” and then I believe Zach said, “Rick O’Shay?” And then I replied, ” Rick O’ Shay, Nick Lachey’s brother”. This is how I remember it happening, correct me if I’m wrong. Anyway, I went to a show last night at the House of Blues in Chicago, I then stayed at my cousin’s house. (Loran’s mom picked her up in Rockford, and I went to the show by myself, well… I guess I wasn’t really by myself if you count the 3,000 obnoxious teenagers packed into the venue.) I was going to play one of two 18 hole courses in the same park in Rockford this morning on my way to the Davis’, (Anna Page Park West Course Review) but my cousin and her husband told me about a course that was closer to their place and less out of the way. (Randall Oaks Course Review) So, I woke up, threw my contacts in, said my thank yous and goodbyes and was on my way. I was stuck in traffic as soon as I pulled out onto the main road they live off of, which was weird. I continued my search for coffee and some sort of pastry, I tried looking ahead to see what was causing the hold-up and I saw a tiny little shop in a mini strip mall that just said donuts. I thought, I’m going for it, I don’t know if I’m going to have another chance. I walked in, and I noticed on the door that they closed at 11am, it was 9:45 – when I got in, the employee was putting away all the donuts (only 2 trays). The place was tiny, and there was one old-school coffee pot about 1/3 full, I asked the guy what kind of coffee they have (hoping it was caffeinated) he mummbled something in a questioning way and walked into the back. As he was back there clunking around, I immediately regretted my decision, realizing that this was not the non-chain, gem of a local pastry shop that I was hoping for. The guy came back with a massive economy bag of coffee, it had a name of a South American country on it, I can’t remember what is was, Paraguay? He read it to me and pointed to the word, I just acted like the coffee he was holding was not the random, magical brand that I wanted to hear, so I said, “Ehhh, OK, I think I ‘m going to try somewhere else” and jetted out of there. 15 minutes later I found a Starbucks. (which is usually my last choice, aside from “donut”) So, I was officially on my way with a cinnamon roll in my stomach and a grande dark roast. I was looking for the road I was supposed to turn left on, when what do I see, just like finding water when you’re lost in the desert, a bright yellow Innova basket! I found it, so I turned in, walked around the park a bit until I figured out where hole one was. These photos show a few of the holes, some of them were pretty cool. In general, the course was pretty simple, but there were a fun variety of long and short holes. I finished the 10 hole course at -1, I was at -3 before I got to hole 9, she was a beast (insert joke here). I had to walk past holes 8 & 9 to get back to my car, and I didn’t like that it was a 10 hole course, I’m not used to the butt hole being on #10 – so I played 8 & 9 again and finished the 12 at -3. What an awesome start to the day!

Hole 7 – I got an Eagle on this one thanks to my trusty old side arm flick.
This is kind of an intimidating first hole, especially for a new course and it’s still early in the season.
Lot’s of par 4 and 5’s – a couple of them were a little too generous, I must admit.